It’s fun introducing my little ones to the Winter Olympics. Living in a summer obsessed country, snow alone holds magic. Imagine the surprise and awe of a five year old watching these insane people choosing to stand on sharp blades then race each other. Or lying on a skateboard sliding on ice faster than our car down the freeway.

I love the thought of training hard. I love the success of those who come through such hardships and realise their dreams. My kids now want to bobsled (or is it bobsleigh), aerial jump and ski jump. I don’t have the heart to tell them that their mother hasn’t been to the snow since she was twelve.

I secretly want to feel the rush of flying down that skeleton track or flying through the air and landing safely. I guess for now I will settle for the edge of my lounge as I watch these incredible athletes flying, slide and jump. Love love love it.

