Boys love fighting. I am presently watching Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles from the 1990’s where the turtles are life size puppets or people in bulky outfits.

I am amazed how much my son loves the fight scenes. He yells at the screen as if he is watching a sports match; which I guess it is in a way. Fight scenes have winners, losers, but there are rarely draws. If the goodies are down, my son shoves his fingers in his mouth, chews on his nails then jumps up and down when things turn around.

He physically puts himself in the middle of the action. His eyes glued on the tv, he follows every word, every movement as if he is there himself. He also loves, loves, loves the Star Wars movies. Surprisingly, some of his favourite characters are a couple of the baddies. Interesting.

I find these films intense and sometimes disturbing. Why would you want to watch fighting when there’s so much going on in the world? Or perhaps he doesn’t know enough of the world as it is. It seems like a built-in interest in fighting, in justice and physical action.

I guess it all comes back to the ancient days where men were the hunters and used their passion for physical activity to destroy enemies and bring home the bacon. Generally speaking, us ladies do not have the desire to destroy, to conquer. I like that we’re different. It’s not always shaped by the culture which you are born into. It seems like a universal difference with a purpose.

