There is a line drawn in the sand of a soul that marks out a person’s breaking point. There is always an unsettling and unfamiliar feeling about this line. It seems to move with the tide and so it often catches this soul unaware

As a mum, I can be so busy with my ‘to do’ list that I don’t know I’ve hit that line until I’m looking back at it, struggling in the heavy surf. “Help”. I fumble, panic-stricken, trying to remember how to get back behind that wretched mark. Relax. Go with the flow. Let go!

I was talking with a group of mums about this experience. Some days you are a capable on the ball, success of a mother, the next day, you find yourself sinking (sometimes literally)  down to the depths of a powerless, weak place.  They are  hermit days, doona days. You hide away, hoping for an early sunset and the dawn of a new and happier day!

Mothers often view each other through golden lenses, “If only I could be like Amy, so together with her 54 children and I can’t keep it together with my 2!” or “Look how Samantha works, plays with her kids, takes them to soccer, ballet, drawing lessons, guitar, wrestling, dominoes and builds them billy carts in her spare time. If only I could do half of that!” Comparing ourselves only leads to failure-land where people walk around, heads peering at the ground, tripping over, eyes perpetually tear-filled and the air thick with despairing moans. No one wants to live there.

From failure-land you can almost make out that breaking point line. You’ve gone too far! Come baaaccckkk. Living behind the line means no more comparisons, no more golden glasses, no more competition. It is a peaceful place of contentment. There is no failure, for it is a land where you only do what you can do. And that is a land I want to live in.

