Why is it that we can’t just be happy? Winters are always too cold, “I can’t wait for summer”, then summer arrives, “this heat is stifling”. The rain pours down, “how miserable” and the sun shines too bright and dries out the grass,”I’m looking forward to some rain”.

Why is it that we can’t just be satisfied with our own looks? The curly-haired among us yearn for straight hair, the straight-haired, a bit of a wave. Our houses are too small, too big (what a hassle), too cold, too hot, not like so-and-so’s across town, if only…

Do we judge the ‘happy’ amongst us? Is there a stigma, a taboo against happiness? Really content people may be read as being sentimental or shallow. Perhaps they are just content? They deal with the bad and really enjoy the good in their lives. They know that life can suck and so they suck it up and deal!

It’s not cool in the western world to be happy with ourselves. To quote the chicks from Mean Girls:

” my hips are huge
oh please, I hate my calves
…I’ve got man shoulders
I used to think there was just fat and skinny, apparently there can be a lot of things that can be wrong on your body”

Sound familiar? Oh yeah. Self-degradation in so in right now. If you’re happy with who you are, where you are, well there must be something wrong with you!

I once went on a girls weekend away and we started sharing our life dramas, our insecurities which is all well and good. To my surprise, one of the girls piped up and said, “Actually I feel ok about myself at the moment.” There was silence and an awe bounced from girl to girl. There was no jealousy or judgment, just a bit of a wakeup call. What a thought! Happy with yourself! Cool, it’s achievable.

So my mind has watered that thought, that vision for many years now. It’s a choice, a renewing of the mind. To be positive and think the best of yourself and others is a desirable place to be. It’s not sentimental or fake, but liberating! Try it today for $19.95.

