Image by Tomas Castelazo

Some days I feel like a raw chicken leg left out overnight; stinky, tough and a little off (though some brave soul may still consume me).

It’s times like these that I embrace the paranoid within. My eyes dart back and forth as I try and read signs and body language and tone. My ears have grown a full inch in sticking-ed-out-ness as they strain to pick up any nuances. It all equates to a state of sensitive tension. It all equates to feelings of insecurity that I just want to spit on! No one wants to feel insecure, especially when it is produced by a whole load of paranoia. Not that I’ve completely lost the plot, perhaps just for a moment in time.

And so, I tiptoe around, looking this way and that, hoping that I can get through the day without saying something ridiculous or falling flat on my face in front of other more sane people. I like to think that I have a little bit of quirk in me and that helps to save face. Most of all, I must be rid of that little paranoid parasite that keeps gnawing away at my insides. I need to either feed him or yank him out.

For those of us that are feeling a little paranoid or just simply tired of ourselves, let me share a recipe of possible success to be rid of the negative internal monologues that haunt our everyday. In short, a plan for sanity without losing creativity! Here it goes:

  1. Live in sweet denial. Just simply assume everybody loves you! It is guaranteed to make your days sunny and blissfully ignorant. Huzzah!
  2. Run, jump, play, roll around in the sand and make sand angels. Enjoy the simple things.
  3. Find a really appropriate song and blast it in your car or at home, dance and cry and get out all that negativity.
  4. Paint, write, sculpt or make up a song.
  5. Write a letter to yourself, noting what you like, what you’d like to change and what you really want to do in life.
  6. Give yourself the day off. Relax and do nothing without the guilt. See a movie in the day, hire a boat and motor or paddle away your blues.
  7. Hang out with positive people.
  8. Help people. Giving always makes you feel useful and that gives purpose to your life.

Though we all may have raw and flabby days, it is always helpful to know that they do come to us all. No matter how together people seem, some are just better actors than others. As Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers sing, “Some days are diamonds some days are rocks.” Just gotta keep chipping away.

