I don’t know about you, but for me, tv shows of the eighties and nineties bring back memories. I can’t remember exactly what I was doing and what was happening but those ancient episodes take me back, way back, when the pimples were just brewing, the tantrums were age appropriate and the smells were sweeter.

And back I shall go… For us Aussies, the ‘must-see’ shows of the eighties (in a G rating) were A Country Practice, Hey, Hey It’s Saturday and The Flying Doctors. We all remember the moment that Molly died on ACP, on the chair outside while Chloe played. Do you also remember when Donna died in the car accident? If only she could have made that seatbelt work.  I remember like it was last week. I was a kid and it was one of the first ‘adult’ shows I was allowed to watch.

Hey, Hey It’s Saturday reminds me of the hour when the babysitter was due to arrive. There were usually cupcakes or other delectables on the coffee table and it was Saturday night, afterall. What could be better?

The Flying Doctors took flight when I was a little older. It was dramatic, endearing and who wasn’t in love with Sam? (played by Peter O’Brien) Oh yes. Those were the early crush days. In those early days, my television was filled with many Australian shows. And quality ones at that!

Then I realised there was a country to our left (or right depending on the map) where the streets were paved with gold and superstars were being made. And my love affair with American television was born! Alf, Happy Days, Cosby Show, Roseanne, Family  Ties, The Greatest American Hero, Who’s the Boss and later 21 Jump Street, Booker then on to Melrose Place, Beverly Hills 90210 and beyond. So, I dumped poor Australia and dove into the sugary world of American television. There were so many options! Eye opening options. America was cool. Australia, its nerdy little brother. And England, I’m afraid you became the sickly, pale, shadow of a cousin hiding in a bleak corner of the entertainment world.

I love looking back on my life according to what I was watching. Did my parents approve? Was it a happy time? Full of conflict and drama in itself? Was tv the great leveler? I remember my mum banning Young Talent Time in our house, when I was eleven. I really wanted to watch it, so I did. She asked what I was watching and I said, “It’s a new show called, Y.T.T” I was busted, however, but I’m pretty sure I got points for creativity. Ah the memories.

