Things, things everywhere. The things invade our mind, our eyes, ears, brains day after day. Tuesday is catalogue day. I love catalogue day. It’s like chocolate, though, I know it’s not good for me but I LOVE it!

I’m a funny little bumpkin, I love catalogues but I HATE advertising. I love dreaming about what I would do with a huge lump of hundred dollar bills but I hate being told what to do with my money. Advertising and I are strange bedfellows. I like smart advertising and I hate those shouty, demanding and deceptive ads that make me feel like I need to buy their product NOW, there will never be a better time…. NEVER! My blood boils and the little shopper inside wriggles as the desire for a bargain intensifies. This is the dance of the panic buyer.

Remember the year when the technical experts were telling us that tvs would never be cheaper, “so buy now!!” It was on some current affairs type show, so it had to be true. Then, during the year, prices plummeted, leaving those naive customers feeling rather duped. Whenever I see advertising/claims like these, my eyes roll and narrow. No, I won’t be one of your sucker customers. There will be a day when things will be cheap again and if I need a big screen tv at that time, well, then I will buy one!

And then there are the catalogues: Ikea, Big W, Target (yes, I’m very up market), Officeworks. It’s not that I go out and buy whatever is on offer, I just like to see what’s out there. You see, I like to be a fairly savvy shopper. I know the genuine toy sales are in June/July, and the big stuff is best left until after Christmas. I know to buy my clothes at the end of each season and not (panic, panic) at the beginning. To be a good shopper is to be a patient shopper. If you wait and dig and find the honest bargain, well you are like the explorers of old, except with better deals and less scurvy.

We all long for advertisers to create ads that are truthful. I wonder, though, if we would shop as much if that were the case. Would it be effective enough? Do we subconsciously like being told that things have never been cheaper? Do we like the thought that we are hearing good news that has never been heard before? Do we feel extra lucky for living in this time when the price of so-and-so is so affordable. For we are told everything is at our fingertips.

I love things. I love getting new things, making my wardrobe sing and my house sparkle. But there is a price to all this wanting; we are never satisfied. There is always something new and exciting and BETTER that we decide to want. I try and approach ads with a large grain of salt and a sense of humour, afterall, they’re meant to be entertaining. I am learning to simply turn off my subconscious and enjoy the show.

 

