For years I have been searching high and low at home and at sea for a theme for my home. I like the sparse look but am way too messy for it. I enjoy old and new and I have struggled to squeeze our home into the modern view of beautiful.

So I have thrown up my hands in surrender and embraced the true nature of my home and my family’s personality. We live near the beach (lucky duckies) in a smallish beach shack. I slap my hand to my forehead as I realise that our home’s theme has been staring me in the face for the past thirteen years. It must be retro beach shack style. (Think 1960s/70s hawaii)

My hubby laughs because we have thrown out many ‘beachy’ and ‘retro’ pieces over the last few years. And now, I have opened my mind and once again embraced such things as matchstick blinds, rattan rugs, kombi vans and old light fittings. Come back to me my babies!!! Mumma is sorry for rejecting you.

I find that when I walk into someone’s home it tells me a lot about the inhabitants. If it’s sparkling clean and tidy, then they are usually organised kinda people. If the house is messy and disorganised then they are generally quite relaxed and possibly creative. I’m a bit of a mix. I’d like my house to look pristine but it’s a case of the spirit being willing but the flesh oh so weak.

I love unusual houses. There’s so many homes around our area that look the same: spacious and beige and orderly. But it’s the quirky ones I feel right at home in. For example a friend of mine lives in a 80’s style house. Think red rectangle tiles in the bathroom with red around the sink. It’s a solid brick house, very comfortable and not as perfect as others. Hooray!!! I always feel like my kids are welcome to make a bit of a mess and feel at home. It takes me back to those rosy childhood days when colours were bright and life was light!

Our homes reflect our personalities, whether we like it or not. So, for our house, I’m gonna choose a fun, light and nostalgic beachy theme with a touch, only a touch, of style. I want it to be a place where people put their feet up on our lounge, hang their arms over the side and feel free to be who they be, warts and all!

