image by SaintEddie

I love honesty.  Except perhaps when it’s too pointed. But on the whole, I do appreciate when someone takes the time and effort to be honest.

I love hearing from people who are unafraid to be vulnerable. There’s really no point in putting on a false smile and pretending all is A-ok when secretly we’re as messed up as the next person. It doesn’t help anyone when we appear to be holding it all together, unless, of course you are the 1% (I guess) who has life all worked out.

Like anyone else, I struggle with fear and doubt and self esteem issues. I try not to let that be obvious in my day to day life but sometimes it’s good to let it all hang out. One of my favourite artists is Alanis Morissette. This is a girl who has earned a reputation for being an angry man-hater, but she isn’t. She is quite vulnerable in the way she writes. She’s just plain honest and I love it.

I want to write like that. Not songs but stories maybe, or blogs, or poetry. I just want other people to know that they’re not alone in their struggles. And I think the best way to do that is by sharing your own experiences and stories. Because basically we’re all the same. No one is perfect. No one has the  perfect life. We all have our shameful thoughts and deeds that we’d rather not bring into the light of day. But where there is light there is freedom… I believe.

So sit back, relax and enjoy some honesty from Ms Morissette. Here’s a few tasty morsels…

‘Eight Easy Steps’

“How to stay paralyzed by fear of abandonment
How to defer to men in solvable predicaments…

How to hate women when you’re supposed to be a feminist
How to play all-pious when you’re really a hypocrite…”

‘All I Really Want’

“All I really want is some peace man
a place to find a common ground
And all I really want is a wavelength
All I really want is some comfort
A way to get my hands untied
And all I really want is some justice…”

‘Thank U’

“how bout me not blaming you for everything
how bout me enjoying the moment for once
how bout how good it feels to finally forgive you
how bout grieving it all one at a time

thank you india
thank you terror
thank you disillusionment
thank you frailty
thank you consequence
thank you thank you silence”

‘Precious Illusions’

“You’ll complete me right?
Then my life can finally begin
I’ll be worthy right?
Only when you realize the gem I am?

But this won’t work now the way it once did
And I won’t keep it up even though I would love to
Once I know who I’m not then I’ll know who I am
But I know I won’t keep on playing the victim”

 

And I could go on and on and on! Just love the creative way she communicates her heart! Ah, to write like Alanis.

Whose writing do you admire?

